[ Back ]

Binance DEX Will Geoblock Users From 29 Countries, Including the US

Jun 2, 2019👎Bearish

The decentralized exchange (DEX) developed by major cryptocurrency exchange Binance will block access to users based in 29 countries.

The DEX informs potential users of the restriction via a message that appears when accessing the platform from one of the regions.

“It seems you are accessing www.binance.org from an IP address belonging to one of the following countries: USA, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia, Burma, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Cote D’Ivoire, the Crimea region of Ukraine, Croatia, Cuba, Herzegovina, Iran, Iraq, Kosovo, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Moldova, Serbia, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, or Zimbabwe.”

Many in the crypto community characterized the finding as an indication that the DEX is in fact not decentralized.

Binance has not replied to Cointelegraph's request for comment on the move at press time.

[ Original article ][ Discuss on twitter ]